Sleepless in Melbourne

10 09 2010

“If you can’t sleep, then get up and do something instead of lying there worrying.  It’s the worry that gets you, not the lack of sleep” – Dale Carnegie

Sans sommeil dans Melbourne. I actually wanted to talk about about quite a dramatic problem of mine as of late. Well I consider it a problem. It’s my problem of being unable to go to bed before 4am, unless I have somewhere to be REALLY EARLY. The last 4 night’s I’ve hit 6am, before deciding to finally drag my feet up to bed. What might I be doing? I couldn’t tell you even if I tried. Sure there’s the odd gaming session on my new Alienware laptop, or the occasional midnight snack while watching a tv show, but other than that… it’s just pointless net surfing. Facebook, Twitter, Youtube, Eurosport, Engadget, WordPress, F1-TM, then back to Facebook and Twitter (I checked my facebook 7 times while writing this blog). That’s pretty much how my night’s go. It’s a sad fact, but least it’s better than going out, getting wasted and spending money (trying to save for any potential End of Year Trips).

I don’t remember what I do, all the pointless hours wasted on the net doing practically nothing. Or nothing ‘worth while’ as my dad would put it. Why do I do it though? Is it the appeal of being a rebel in my own way, where I stay up way past when I should? Perhaps, but I do have a few theories why I might do so.

My dad usually goes to bed between 11pm and 2am, depending on the movie playing on tv (Foreign Films if you’re wondering). My sister’s usually in bed much before then, either sleeping or on her netbook in her room upstairs. That leaves me alone. It pretty much gives me the freedom to do whatever I want between the hours of 2am and 6am. I can play a PC game without my dad asking me for the millionth time if ‘I’ve studied’ or if ‘I’m up to date with my studies’. Most conversations between us usually end like that these days. Or perhaps its the quiet. The Peace. The Tranquility. I’m not a spiritual or religous person by any means, but the time I spend alone in my thought’s is the one I enjoy the most sometimes. In a perfect world we would do whatever we want when we wanted, but unfortunately for us… there is no such thing as perfect. It’s the coming to grips with that, which can make it so hard sometimes. There are always good thoughts, but othertimes I’d rather forget about those thoughts.

It’s the quiet thinking when I’m in bed that I worry about the most, hence the quote at the start. Sometimes I just sit in bed, and ponder for hours. Where am I going? What is happening in my life? Why did things turn out the way they did? How would things be different if I tried harder? The questions go on and on and on. Sometimes they just get to me. Sometimes the thought follow my dreams. They’re restless and never peaceful. It doesn’t happen every night, but when it does happen.. it can be quite painstaking. Perhaps thats why I don’t want to go to bed early. The lack of hours in sleep is a better alternative to worrysome dreams, endless thoughts in bed, and ultimately a terrible night’s sleep. Or maybe I’m just nocturnal. Therefore it might be fitting that the song I’m currently listening to is Mr. Sandman (Video Link), by  The Chordettes. The Sandman is a mythical character in Western folklore who brings good dreams by sprinkling magical sand onto the eyes of children while they sleep at night. If he’s real, I could use a helping hand right about now.

Whatever it is, I most probably need to try and fix it. But while I’m still here might as well enjoy the most of Kanye West’s rants on twitter. I’ll keep you updated with any run in’s with the Sandman, but for now I bid you adieu.

Actions

Information

4 responses

10 09 2010
inidna

your quote at the beginning of this entry couldn’t ring more true if it tried. i think that plays a major role in why we sleep late. every time i fall into bed i’m exhausted beyond belief, yet when i close my eyes for immediate departure into lala land a million thoughts bombard my mind and i’m lost. it’s the worst! 😦 hope your insomnia gets fixed soon jubba jub!

12 09 2010
Jubbin

Oops, my email never told me you had commented! Yea it took me a while to find that quote, but I thought it summed up the blog post pretty well. I think the quote before the post seems to work well I’m keeping with it.
It’s amazing how when you’re tired, and you start thinking, and *poof* the sleepiness goes away.
I’ve gotten a few people telling me how to solve it. Too bad its never that easy.

13 09 2010
Adam

totally relate to where your coming from. every night i would lie in bed for at least an hour before going to sleep. i usually put on a movie just because i dun wanna “waste time”. at least by watching a movie, time is still spent on entertainment i guess

13 09 2010
Jubbin

I know man, its nearly 6am and I’m not even feeling tired. Watching a late tv show or movie helps so much. Means when I go to bed I think of that over other matters.

Leave a Reply

